Days

I burnt a house
on Monday.
Their memories now burnt wisps.
For miles and miles I drove.
Blank rear view mirror.

I robbed a bank
on Tuesday.
Lies; they didn’t unfold.
Pounding heart, on foot, through snow.
One set of tracks.

I got into a bar fight
On Wednesday.
Pungency of blood and rum.
Wooden leg of a chair sat fermenting in beer.
Only my knuckles throbbed.

I ran over a puppy
on Thursday.
Slivers of bone pricked the wheels.
Fur stuck.
It lay. No squeals.

I planned a two-day kidnapping.
Glue and cut magazine letters.
Deaf answering machine.
They said they’d come.

I went for ice cream.
on Sunday.

Mint chocolate melted under the sun.
A strange tug.
A little arm, outstretched – holding a cone.

© 2015 Pia Krishnankutty & springtidevoice. wordpress.com All Rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “Days

  1. monocochlearmutineer says:

    This is the best of yours I’ve read so far. Really very good. I can’t quite hit the follow button yet though, until I see more like this… 😉

You do not have the right to remain silent...

