No, I Don’t Think I Would

What if I told you this isn’t real?
What if I told you it’s all wrong?
The love, the kindness, the hurt.
What if I told you nothing matters?
The climb, the blood, the hope.
Would you wince? Would you smile? Would you shrug?

What if I told you the truth? Would you raise a sword?
What if I pushed you so far into a corner, set your voice alight and watch you regurgitate ashen screams. Would you sit? Would you stand?
Would you slice through flesh or heal the wound?

What if I told you, you were born of hate?
Would you hurt?
I think you’d question
and make a rash decision
and without precision, you’d rationalize a few dark thoughts.

Isn’t it funny how these are just words?
Yet with a tone and a single finger I can mobilize all your fears.
I can justify murder, I can make sense of malice.
It’s all because I care.

What if I told you you were right?
But I only broke you out of love?
And all your theories were proved.
Would you step down without a fight?

No, I don’t think I would.

© 2015 Pia Krishnankutty & springtidevoice. wordpress.com All Rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “No, I Don’t Think I Would

You do not have the right to remain silent...

