Autos Aren’t That Bad After All

20150217_154450

Yesterday I took an auto-rickshaw and stumbled upon this.

Any Bangalorean will tell you that autos are often a pain… yet we still take them. But this auto driver wasn’t just interested in taking me to church street, he propagated a message in his own humble way…

20150218_161604 There were pamphlets about common misconceptions about Islam, how it empowers women (actually) etc. I was so taken aback (in a good way) that I asked the driver if I could take a picture. I saw him smile through the rear-view mirror before saying in Hindi “yes please do!” He even followed up by asking me about my camera’s mega-pixels [probably just to impress] to which I replied in whatever broken Hindi I knew “it’s a good camera, that’s all I know!”

20150218_161717 I read as many pamphlets as I could while being tossed from lane to lane in that tiny little three-wheeler. They were actually well substantiated with historical events and analogies to other religions. I was quite impressed.

It was the first time that I went from feeling indifferent about an auto ride to actually enjoying it.

I’ll have you know that auto rickshaws are notorious for bargaining and arguing every last penny out of you let alone providing any reading material in the form of distractions to the innumerable honks and what not. So as you can imagine, I was pleasantly surprised. 20150218_16164020150218_161630 The funny part of this whole experience was that I did a project about auto rickshaws and Indian tourism in which I suggested PAMPHLETS about the city to be put in front of the seat. I couldn’t believe it. If that’s not coincidental I don’t know what is! © 2015 Pia Krishnankutty & springtidevoice. wordpress.com All Rights Reserved

9 thoughts on “Autos Aren’t That Bad After All

  1. Rachel M says:

    This is a great post. The pamphlets are really good but I’m not sure that I agree with the nun example. Nuns are women who choose to become nuns. It’s a choice they make as adults and they’re free to go out alone, drive a car, and take their veils off and abandon being a nun if they want to. My understanding is that Muslim women have no choice: they must wear the veil.

You do not have the right to remain silent...

