I Sweat

Meeting a stranger,
striking a conversation with a stranger,
Awkward silences 
(but not necessarily with strangers);
I sweat.

My mind transpires
Into a prickly thread of vapour,
constituting thoughts, fancies (fears)
in the thick shape of droplets.

My nerves swelter
beneath the coals of judgement
of others but honestly, my own.
And you can’t shake a sweat
That you can’t touch, but only feel.

So why does this mental grease
that oozes through my being,
take such command over my state
Is THIS the only fate?

“Why can’t i be this.
Urgh, why can’t i act cool”
I guess very often it’s my downfall
But ever so rarely this sticky film reminds-
We all sweat. Get over it.

© 2015 Pia Krishnankutty & springtidevoice. wordpress.com All Rights Reserved

12 thoughts on “I Sweat

  1. jordanflair1998 says:

    One time in a basketball camp it was 7th-11th grades and theyed call out each grade and when your grade was called you had to move to the front of the huge gym ironically out of over 200 kids I was the only 9th grader I walked to the front all alone and then to make things worst I peed right there in front of 200 strangers and I never forgot it.

    • misskutts says:

      When i first read this all i wanted to do was give you a great big hug and tell you it’s okay! But honestly, you have nothing to be embarrassed about. I’ve had and witnessed far worse and it’s really just a measure of your character on how you act to it now. So make it a joke, laugh at yourself and never hide it; it’s a small part of your story. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

You do not have the right to remain silent...

